View Full Version : AOL blocked mail from my server?
sander815
05-27-2004, 03:43 AM
today i got a complaint from 1 of my customers saying he can't send mail anymore to AOL, through my smtp server
from the logs:
2004-05-27 12:29:24 1BTI8a-0004Gr-4h ** xxxx@aol.com R=lookuphost T=remote_smtp: SMTP error from remote mailer after initial connection: host mailin-02.mx.aol.com [205.188.156.249]: 554- (RTR:SC) The information presently available to AOL indicates\n554- that this server has been repeatedly used to transmit unsolicited\n554- bulk e-mail to AOL. Based on AOL's e-mail policies at\n554- http://postmaster.info.aol.com/guidelines/standards.html, AOL cannot\n554- accept further e-mail transactions from this server for an extended\n554- period of time. Please have your ISP/ASP contact AOL t
i do have a couple of aol adressed msgs that are frozen, maybe thats why they think i sent bulk email?
whats that?
http://postmaster.info.aol.com/guidelines/standards.html has the reasons to be blocked
ProWebUK
05-27-2004, 11:00 AM
Read that list and check if you comply with everything ;)
One that im sure many will miss is:
AOL's mail servers will reject connections from any IP address that does not have reverse DNS (a PTR record).
Check you have RNDS / PTR records on all ips sending mail ;)
Chris
sander815
05-27-2004, 02:03 PM
canyou pointme to where i should edit that?
sander815
05-27-2004, 02:12 PM
dnsreport.com:
OK. The IPs of all of your mail server(s) have reverse DNS (PTR) entries. RFC1912 2.1 says you should have a reverse DNS for all your mail servers. It is strongly urged that you have them, as many mailservers will not accept mail from mailservers with no reverse DNS entry. The reverse DNS entries are:
97.250.23.81.in-addr.arpa gigE.xx.xx.xx.com. [TTL=80550]
is that enough, or do i have to edit all dns entries by hand?
like described here: http://www.directadmin.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=2175&highlight=reverse+dns
sander815
05-29-2004, 08:19 AM
no, this is not about reverse dns, on another server i get this:
[sander@ns /]$ telnet mailin-03.mx.aol.com 25
Trying 205.188.159.249...
Connected to mailin-03.mx.aol.com.
Escape character is '^]'.
220-rly-ye05.mx.aol.com ESMTP mail_relay_in-ye5.3; Sat, 29 May 2004 11:11:00 -04
00
220-America Online (AOL) and its affiliated companies do not
220- authorize the use of its proprietary computers and computer
220- networks to accept, transmit, or distribute unsolicited bulk
220- e-mail sent from the internet. Effective immediately: AOL
220- may no longer accept connections from IP addresses which
220 have no reverse-DNS (PTR record) assigned.
on the server i am talking about i get this
[root@server01 exim]# telnet mailin-03.mx.aol.com 25
Trying 64.12.137.152...
Connected to mailin-03.mx.aol.com.
Escape character is '^]'.
554- (RTR:SC) The information presently available to AOL indicates
554- that this server has been repeatedly used to transmit unsolicited
554- bulk e-mail to AOL. Based on AOL's e-mail policies at
554- http://postmaster.info.aol.com/guidelines/standards.html, AOL cannot
554- accept further e-mail transactions from this server for an extended
554- period of time. Please have your ISP/ASP contact AOL to resolve the
554- issue at 703.265.4670.
554 Connecting IP: 81.23.xx.xx
Connection closed by foreign host.
they are claiming there has been sent bulk email from my server? i am sure thats not happenend..
any idea how i can be taken off, without calling them?
nobaloney
05-31-2004, 09:56 AM
You can write them from a different server, to postmaster@aol.com, or you can join a list frequented by AOL postmasters.
Jeff
sander815
05-31-2004, 10:53 AM
i see on WHT that many servers get blocked without reason....
i already mailed them 3 times, the 1st one 1.5 weeks ago..
not that i really care, i just advice my customers to use their ISP smtp server, and kindly explain them the aol way of working, and maybe hope someday ill get a decent answer
Powered by vBulletin™ Version 4.0.4 Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.