View Full Version : tons of spam?
truenegative
03-29-2008, 07:11 AM
Lately I've been receiving in one of my accounts TONS of spam. Then all of a sudden I start receiving spam with the header changed in my inbox. It doesn't go to the spam folder. I tried restarting exim, but it didn't seem to help. I need to try and solve my spam issue as I don't want other servers to whitelist mine.
Anything I can check? Or any good 3rd party apps to help get rid of spam?
floyd
03-29-2008, 11:14 AM
Make sure you are not using a catchall and make sure you are using the RBL's.
I don't want other servers to whitelist mine.
What?
truenegative
03-31-2008, 05:59 AM
oops i meant blacklist...
I had to send an email recently to verizon because my server was on the list with them.
Anyways, I think I've figured it out somewhat. I have an email info at tmautofest.com and that forwards to my personal email. I'm getting tons of message rejected emails.
I think some spammers are using that email as a reply-to, so I get the rejection message. It's just as bad as spam. I had 30 of them in my inbox this morning. I think one way to do it is to delete the email account since that site is no longer being used.
Are there any other options?
switch
04-01-2008, 07:48 AM
So you have an email at tmautofest.com that is forwarding to your personal email, and this "personal email" is the one that's getting lots of spam, right?
You've narrowed down the cause of the spam to be the email at tmautofest.com.
So it seems to me you need to make sure anti-spam measures are set up for the email at tmautofest.com. Is this a domain you host on your DA server? Do you have spamassassin set up and turned on? Are you using RBL's?
Or if you really can't stand a whole 30 messages, why not stop forwarding and only check the email at tmautofest.com from time to time, keeping your personal inbox nice and clean?
truenegative
04-03-2008, 09:27 AM
good point! I'll check to see if its turned on for that domain... Thanks :)
SeLLeRoNe
04-03-2008, 12:00 PM
hi,
i receive a lot of spam too and i would like to know some info:
- how disable for whole server and all customers catch-all
- how make eim delete frozen email automatically
- why exim put on frozen email directed to domain that i dont host and dont reject that?
- how they send email to yahoo.net and why my exim work on that O_O
Thanks a lot for help
nobaloney
04-21-2008, 06:07 PM
- how disable for whole server and all customers catch-all
For some time now you've been able to turn of ability use catchall, but first you have to turn off catchall for each domain for which it's turned on.
- how make eim delete frozen email automatically
Exim does delete frozen email, but it takes a while. If you update to the latest beta version of SpamBlocker, version 3.1-beta, then you'll be able to see comments to help you figure it out; search the file for queue.
- why exim put on frozen email directed to domain that i dont host and dont reject that?
RFCs require you to accept email from null senders. You can find more information on other posts in these threads.
- how they send email to yahoo.net and why my exim work on that O_O
I'm not sure what you mean.
Jeff
SeLLeRoNe
04-22-2008, 12:31 AM
Hi Jeff,
thanks a lot for your replyes.
Fo yahoo.net i mean this.
Im hosting domainA.com and no other domain.
On exim i see an email that have domainB.com as sender and yahoo.net as receiver...
I just dont understand why this happen if i dont host domainB.com and yahoo.net
Thanks
SeLLeRoNe
04-22-2008, 12:34 AM
Sorry,
RFCs require you to accept email from null senders. You can find more information on other posts in these threads.
where in this thread? I didnt found any information about file to edit or command line ^^
Thanks again
nobaloney
04-23-2008, 10:08 AM
I'm sorry if I wasn't clear; I didn't mean in this thread, but rather in other threads on these forums.
Can you post all the headers and log entries from one of those emails that doesn't appear to have anything to do with domains on your server?
Jeff
SeLLeRoNe
04-23-2008, 12:38 PM
ive no more that email sorry, but i saw that one of my customers has a bug in him cms (PHP-Nuke on Search module).
Now i blocked him and that kind of emails are not arriving...
but.. example:
1JokAQ-0004Dd-Ns-H
mail 8 8
<>
1208977086 0
-ident mail
-received_protocol local
-body_linecount 133
-allow_unqualified_recipient
-allow_unqualified_sender
-frozen 1208977087
-localerror
XX
1
PearlpinnacleCouch@pcshd.com
157P Received: from mail by Psycho.CrazyNetwork.it with local (Exim 4.63)
id 1JokAQ-0004Dd-Ns
for PearlpinnacleCouch@pcshd.com; Wed, 23 Apr 2008 20:58:06 +0200
092 X-Failed-Recipients: analegnano@Psycho.CrazyNetwork.it,
analegnano@Psycho.CrazyNetwork.it
029 Auto-Submitted: auto-replied
066F From: Mail Delivery System <Mailer-Daemon@Psycho.CrazyNetwork.it>
033T To: PearlpinnacleCouch@pcshd.com
059 Subject: Mail delivery failed: returning message to sender
055I Message-Id: <E1JokAQ-0004Dd-Ns@Psycho.CrazyNetwork.it>
038 Date: Wed, 23 Apr 2008 20:58:06 +0200
This E-Mail result frozen and i think that if i dont delete it manually that will rest there forever... right?
Thanks for your support and sorry if my english is not so good
nobaloney
04-23-2008, 04:43 PM
Frozen emails are deleted after a settable number of hours/days/minutes.
Search for the comments with the word queue in them in SpamBlocker version 3.1-beta to see the code.
Jeff
SeLLeRoNe
04-24-2008, 12:58 AM
mmh but i dont use spamblocker, just spamassasin...
ive checked the exim.conf file and turnet the frozen email on delete after 2h but seem that dont work that option... any idea?
nobaloney
04-25-2008, 04:25 PM
We set it for one day (1d) and it works for us.
Jeff
SeLLeRoNe
04-26-2008, 02:44 AM
in exim.conf file?
nobaloney
04-27-2008, 02:21 PM
Yes, in the exim.conf file.
Jeff
Powered by vBulletin™ Version 4.0.4 Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.