View Full Version : Is my SpamBlocker working?
Jensemann
01-05-2008, 05:13 AM
I've just upgraded to SB 3. But I still get 3-5 spam mails every hour. The same as earlier. Is it working, or is it normal that this amount of spam will pass through the filters? I've remembered to download exim.pl as well.
My main concern is that the dns lists are not configured correctly. Included is my pretty plain exim.conf file.
jlandes
01-05-2008, 02:07 PM
Have you enabled RBLs on your server?
http://help.directadmin.com/item.php?id=142
nobaloney
01-05-2008, 04:31 PM
Jensemann,
SpamBlocker3 may or may not catch more spam than older versions. On one of my servers (I just checked) it found and rejected 214,063 emails during the seven days ending at 4 AM on December 30th. During that week we got no notifications of false positives.
Jeff
Jensemann
01-05-2008, 05:56 PM
Have you enabled RBLs on your server?
http://help.directadmin.com/item.php?id=142
Of course... I haven't done that. And my partner that set up the server in the first place never did that either. No wonder that spam kept rolling in.
I've checked the exim logs, and it blocks a lot of spam already.
Thanks.
Jeff:
It seems to work perfect then.
Thanks for a great script/config file!
Eduard
01-06-2008, 11:59 AM
Hy
I try To enable RBL blocking:
Login as root, run the following:
cd /etc/virtual
rm -f use_rbl_domains
ln -s domains use_rbl_domains
Ok now i have an error when im sending mail to yahoo , the error is :
This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.
A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its
recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:
name@yahoo.com
SMTP error from remote mail server after initial connection:
host a.mx.mail.yahoo.com [209.191.118.103]: 553 Mail from MY-IP-ADDRESS-FROM-SERVER not
allowed - 5.7.1 [21] Connections not accepted from IP addresses on Spamhaus PBL;
see http://postmaster.yahoo.com/550571-2.html [550]
------ This is a copy of the message, including all the headers. ------.
Then, i try do disable the RBLs` just like that:
cd /etc/virtual
rm -f use_rbl_domains
touch use_rbl_domains
i restart exim, but when im sending an email to yahoo, i have same error:
k now i have an error when im sending mail to yahoo , the error is :
This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.
A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its
recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:
name@yahoo.com
SMTP error from remote mail server after initial connection:
host a.mx.mail.yahoo.com [209.191.118.103]: 553 Mail from MY-IP-ADDRESS-FROM-SERVER not
allowed - 5.7.1 [21] Connections not accepted from IP addresses on Spamhaus PBL;
see http://postmaster.yahoo.com/550571-2.html [550]
------ This is a copy of the message, including all the headers. ------.
Do you have any sugestion for me? :)
Tnx.
Eduard.
jlandes
01-06-2008, 01:40 PM
It looks to me like your server's IP has been blacklisted by Spamhaus. You should be able to remove you IP by going to the following Web site:
http://www.spamhaus.org/pbl/index.lasso
Eduard
01-06-2008, 01:52 PM
Hy and TNX,
I try this, the funy think is this :
MY-SERVER-IP is not listed in the SBL
MY-SERVER-IP is not listed in the PBL
MY-SERVER-IP is not listed in the XBL
:) any sugestion?
Eduard.
nobaloney
01-14-2008, 10:31 AM
If your server IP isn't listed but Yahoo tells you it is, you'll have to take the issue up with the Yahoo postmaster.
Jeff
defomaz
01-14-2010, 08:11 AM
hi i also have problem with this, when enablein RBL message rejected
here is log
Delivery to the following recipient failed permanently:
admin@websakti.com
Technical details of permanent failure:
Google tried to deliver your message, but it was rejected by the recipient domain. We recommend contacting the other email provider for further information about the cause of this error. The error that the other server returned was: 550 550 Email blocked by BSHL - to unblock see http://www.example.com/ (state 14).
----- Original message -----
Received: by 10.204.5.75 with SMTP id 11mr503362bku.20.1263480859700;
Thu, 14 Jan 2010 06:54:19 -0800 (PST)
Return-Path: <hadi@pusathosting.com>
Received: from ?127.0.0.1? ([125.164.3.89])
by mx.google.com with ESMTPS id 16sm363660bwz.11.2010.01.14.06.54.14
(version=SSLv3 cipher=RC4-MD5);
Thu, 14 Jan 2010 06:54:16 -0800 (PST)
Message-ID: <4B4F3012.2050603@pusathosting.com>
Date: Thu, 14 Jan 2010 21:54:10 +0700
From: Hadi Suwantoro <hadi@pusathosting.com>
User-Agent: Thunderbird 2.0.0.23 (Windows/20090812)
MIME-Version: 1.0
To: admin@websakti.com
Subject: tes
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=ISO-8859-1; format=flowed
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
tess
--
defomaz
01-14-2010, 08:37 AM
hi sory, fixed now. but i don't know what exactly the problem
it seem i have install MailScanner and i have disable then everything going ok.
Powered by vBulletin™ Version 4.0.4 Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.