PDA

View Full Version : is www.directadmin.cn DA official reseller?


jack
03-06-2006, 01:47 AM
www.directadmin.cn
on their website they are selling DA for around 88 USD.
they posted on another forum says they are currently doing a special offer selling DA only for 50 USD.

the price is very cheap, are they official reseller?
:confused:

jmstacey
03-06-2006, 03:40 PM
I can't offically say, but internal licenses are much cheaper than buying the individually. But they have to be sold with a server...

sullise
03-06-2006, 03:59 PM
Looks like a ripoff site..first of all, it's in chinese.

Second of all, I think that DA will have a slight issue with them using "directadmin.cn" as it's a clear copyright violation.

Not to mention they stole CPSKin's icons from what I see.

jlasman
03-06-2006, 04:45 PM
My understanding is that there no official DA resellers.

Data Center operators who rent out servers with DA installed are permitted to buy DA at special internal pricing, and include DA with their rental servers.

Since DA is licensed software buying a physical copy or installation does not give you the rights to use it.

If you by a copy of DA from an unauthorized source you are still required to pay JBMC (the company that owns and licenses DA) for its use.

The whois record for directadmin.cn shows an email address of:

rony_zhang@hotmail.com

It shows no other address information. The sponsoring registrar information is in chinese and I can't read it :( .

If you should buy DA from an unlicensed source you'll be depriving JBMC of the revenue it needs to continue to update DA, and you may get a hacked copy that may or may not be free of viruses, and worms. And of course you wouldn't be able to get support from DirectAdmin.

sullise,

Actually, it's more likely a trademark violation.

Based on the picture of their homepage the icons are what come with the original DA skin.

Jeff

sullise
03-06-2006, 08:18 PM
Lets not forget that DA updates it license on the server every 2 weeks. No license, no workie...;)

jack
03-06-2006, 10:18 PM
i think what they are doing is selling internal licenses.

jlasman
03-08-2006, 05:54 PM
Internal licenses are only to be sold with servers, or used on rental servers within data centers.

Mark? John?

Jeff

DirectAdmin Sales
03-08-2006, 08:50 PM
That site is not authorized by us -- internal licenses cannot be sold by themselves. Thanks for the heads up, will be looking into this.

Mark

hostpc.com
03-09-2006, 05:48 AM
How did you find them? The domain has been registered less than 120 days, I doubt it's in the search engines yet ...

jack
03-14-2006, 12:59 PM
Saw their offer on a famous China hosting forum.